IFAB changed handball rule

The IFAB has revised the handball rules, confirming the ‘accidental handball resulting in a teammate scoring a goal will not be an offence’.

The International Football Association Board is that the only body liable for changing the principles and has released a press release of the revised handball rules from this July.

“As the interpretation of handball incidents has not always been consistent thanks to incorrect applications of the Law, the members confirmed that not every touch of a player’s hand /arm with the ball is an offence,” the statement said.

“In terms of the criterion of the hand/arm making a player’s body ‘unnaturally bigger’, it had been confirmed that referees should still use their judgement in determining the validity of the hand/arm’s position in reference to the player’s movement therein specific situation.

“Following this clarification, it’s a handball office if a player:

– deliberately touches the ball with their hand/arm, for instance moving the hand/arm towards the ball;

– touches the ball with their hand/arm when it had made their body unnaturally bigger. A player is taken into account to possess made their body unnaturally bigger when the position of their hand/arm isn’t a consequence of, or justifiable by, the player’s body movement for that specific situation. By having their hand/arm in such an edge , the player takes a risk of their hand/arm being hit by the ball and being penalised; or

– scores within the opponents’ goal: directly from their hand/arm, albeit accidental, including the goalkeeper; or immediately after the ball has touched their hand/arm, albeit accidental.

“Accidental handball that results in a teammate scoring a goal or having a goal-scoring opportunity will not be considered an offence.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.