Champions League: what pots are Serie A clubs in?

Milan will play the Champions League for the first time in seven years, but will find themselves in pot four, while Inter are in pot one, Juve and Atalanta in two and three, respectively.

Having won the Scudetto this term, the Nerazzurri will be among the Champions League top seeds next season.

Pot one consists of the title holders, the Europa League winners and the champions of the nations ranked highest by UEFA.

If Manchester City win the Champions League Final against Chelsea, Russian champions Zenit St. Petersburg will join the top seeds.

The clubs’ coefficients determine the remaining three pots depending on the sum of all points won in the previous five years or the association coefficient over the same period.

Milan haven’t played the Champions League since 2013-14 and will be included in pot four, behind Atalanta, who are on pot three.

The Champions League begins in late June with a preliminary round, three qualifying rounds and a play-off round, all played over two legs. The six surviving teams enter the group stage, joining 26 teams qualified in advance. 

These are the pots for the 2021-22 Champions League as it stands.

Pot 1
Manchester City (ENG)
Atlético Madrid (ESP)
Bayern Monaco (GER)
Lille (FRA)
Inter (ITA)
Sporting Lisbon (POR)
Man. United (ENG) or Villarreal (ESP)
Chelsea (ENG) or Zenit (RUS)

Pot 2
Real Madrid (ESP)
Barcelona (ESP)
Juventus (ITA)
Liverpool (ENG)
Sevilla (ESP)
Chelsea (ENG), Manchester United (ENG) or Borussia Dortmund (GER)
One between Chelsea (ENG), Manchester United (ENG), Borussia Dortmund (GER) or Porto (POR)
 Pot 3
Ajax (NED)
Leipzig (GER)
Atalanta (ITA)
Borussia Dortmund (GER) if Chelsea and Villareal win the European cups
Porto (POR) – if one between Chelsea and Villareal win the cup.
Zenit (RUS) – If Chelsea win the Champions League

Pot 4
Milan (ITA)
Wolfsburg (GER)  

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.