Inter 2-1 AC Milan: Nerazzurri win TIM Trophy

BARI – The first Milanese derby of the season was held at the Stadio San Nicola in Bari, as Inter and AC Milan squared off in the last of three mini-matches to determine the 2012 TIM Trophy winner. El Sharaawy put the Rossoneri ahead but Inter turned the tables thanks to a Guarin header and Palacio’s goal on the break, thus securing the 12th edition of the tournament.

Both sides began aggressively but the first chance fell to the Rossoneri: Boateng forced Belec into a difficult save with an effort that was heading for the top corner. Inter responded and went close in the 11th minute as Coutinho burst into the box from the left before drilling a low shot at goal, Amelia collecting at the second attempt. Milito then played Palacio in with a useful ball on the 15-minute mark but the former Genoa man bulged the side netting with a powerful shot on the run.

A minute later it was 1-0 to AC Milan, El Sharaawy seizing on a
defensive slip by Chivu to sweep past Belec.

made two substitutions on 20 minutes: Amelia and Boateng made
way for Pazzagli and Carmona. Stramaccioni responded by replacing
Jonathan with Mbaye.

showed a remarkable display of bravery when he hurled himself at the ball with
Ganz about to swivel and volley after 24 minutes.

later the Nerazzurri drew level with a textbook move. Palacio whipped
in the most inviting of crosses between the keeper and the back line, and Guarin
got there ahead of Acerbi to nod past Pazzagli.

brought on fresh blood in the 28th
minute as Longo took over striking duties from Milito, while
Emanuelson replaced goalscorer El Sharaawy for AC Milan.

completed the comeback on 34 minutes. Palacio left opponents trailing
in his wake with a jet-heeled charge towards goals before powering
the ball across Pazzagli and into the far corner.

gave Ranocchia, Bianchetti, Benassi and Pasa a taste of the action late on but there
was no change in scoreline before the referee blew for full time.

With two wins out of two following their earlier win over Juventus, the Nerazzurri end the competition on maximum points (six), racking up their eighth TIM Trophy success in 12 years.

Inter 2-1 AC Milan
Scorers: El Sharaawy 16, Guarin 25, Palacio 34.

Inter: 27 Belec, 4 Zanetti, 6 Silvestre, 7 Coutinho
(28 Pasa, 42), 8 Palacio (24 Benassi, 42), 14 Guarin, 19 Cambiasso, 22
Milito (81 Longo, 28), 26 Chivu (23 Ranocchia, 33), 33 Mbaye (20′ 42
Jonathan), 55 Nagatomo (44 Bianchetti, 37).
Subs: 12 Castellazzi, 45 Forte, 46 Del Piero.
Coach: Andrea Stramaccioni.

AC Milan: 1 Amelia (60 Pazzagli, 20), 77 Antonini, 13
Acerbi, 15 Mesbah, 62 Albertazzi, 12 Traorè (61 Prosenik, 39), 54
Cristante, 57 Valoti, 92 El Sharaawy (28 Emanuelson, 32), 56 Ganz, 27
Boateng (55 Carmona, 20).
Subs: 2 De Sciglio, 19 Taiwo, 23 Ambrosini, 25 Bonera, 50 Narduzzo, 58 Iotti, 70 Robinho, 76 Yepes.
Coach: Massimiliano Allegri.

Referee: Carmine Russo.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.